50-Hour Driving Log
Updated July 9, 2026
California Supervised Driving Log
Before a minor's driving test, California requires at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice — with 10 of those hours at night — logged with a California-licensed driver who is 25 or older (CA Driver's Handbook — Getting an Instruction Permit and Driver's License). Log each drive below. A parent or guardian signs the total when you apply.
Supervised driving hours required, by state
Fifty hours is the most common requirement, used by 29 states, but it is not the national rule. The figure runs from 20 hours in Iowa to 100 in Oregon, and Arkansas and Hawaii publish no minimum at all. Check your own state before you start counting. Each state name links to the official source.
| State | Hours | At night | Permit held | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 50 | not specified | 6 months | — |
| Alaska | 40 | not specified | 6 months | 10 of the 40 hours must be in challenging conditions such as nighttime or harsh weather, not night specifically |
| Arizona | 30 | 10 | 6 months | 20 hours including 6 at night if the applicant completed a driver education program |
| Arkansas | none published | — | not published | Arkansas does not publish a minimum number of supervised practice hours; the intermediate license requires only the permit and passed exams |
| California | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Colorado | 50 | 10 | 1 year | 62 hours total if the 12-hour behind-the-wheel training is done with a parent instead of a driving school |
| Connecticut | 40 | not specified | 6 months | Permit hold is 120 days if trained by a commercial or secondary driving school, 180 days if home-trained |
| Delaware | 50 | 10 | 1 year | — |
| Florida | 50 | 10 | 1 year | — |
| Georgia | 40 | 6 | 366 days | — |
| Hawaii | none published | — | 6 months | Hawaii publishes no minimum supervised practice hours; a certified driver education course with behind-the-wheel training is required instead |
| Idaho | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Illinois | 50 | 10 | 9 months | — |
| Indiana | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Iowa | 20 | 2 | 1 year | A further 10 hours (2 at night) are required to move from the intermediate licence to a full licence |
| Kansas | 50 | 10 | 1 year | At least 25 of the hours must be logged before the age-15 restricted permit stage |
| Kentucky | 60 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Louisiana | 50 | 15 | 6 months | — |
| Maine | 70 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Maryland | 60 | 10 | 9 months | Reduced to 14 hours (3 at night) for applicants 25 and older |
| Massachusetts | 40 | not specified | 6 months | Reduced to 30 hours if the applicant completes a driver skills development program |
| Michigan | 50 | 10 | 6 months | 30 of the 50 hours (2 at night) must be complete before starting Segment 2 driver education |
| Minnesota | 50 | 15 | 6 months | Reduced to 40 hours if the parent or guardian completes the 90-minute parent awareness class |
| Mississippi | 50 | not specified | 1 year | — |
| Missouri | 40 | 10 | 182 days | — |
| Montana | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Nebraska | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Nevada | 50 | 10 | 6 months | 100 hours (10 at night) if the applicant is not within 30 miles of a DMV-approved driver education school |
| New Hampshire | 40 | 10 | not published | In addition to an approved driver education program; the 40 hours are supervised practice outside the course |
| New Jersey | 50 | 10 | 6 months | Applies to permits issued on or after 1 February 2025 |
| New Mexico | 50 | 10 | 6 months | The six-month permit period is extended by 30 days for each traffic violation committed while on the permit |
| New York | 50 | 15 | 6 months | — |
| North Carolina | 60 | 10 | 9 months | — |
| North Dakota | 50 | not specified | 1 year | Applies to permit holders under 16; the log must cover rural, urban, gravel, night and winter driving but sets no night-hour minimum |
| Ohio | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Oklahoma | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Oregon | 100 | not specified | 6 months | Reduced to 50 hours if the applicant passes an approved driver education course; Oregon sets no night-hour minimum |
| Pennsylvania | 65 | 10 | 6 months | Also requires 5 hours of bad weather driving within the 65 hours |
| Rhode Island | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| South Carolina | 40 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| South Dakota | 50 | 10 | 275 days | Also requires 10 hours in inclement weather; permit hold drops from 275 to 180 days after passing driver's ed |
| Tennessee | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Texas | 30 | 10 | 6 months | The 30 hours are part of the required driver education course's behind-the-wheel phase |
| Utah | 40 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Vermont | 40 | 10 | 1 year | In addition to the 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training in driver education |
| Virginia | 45 | 15 | 9 months | — |
| Washington | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| West Virginia | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Wisconsin | 50 | 10 | 6 months | — |
| Wyoming | 50 | 10 | 10 days | — |
These are the requirements for applicants under 18. Most states reduce or waive them for adults, and several cut the hours if you complete a driver education course, so the Conditions column is worth reading before you plan your practice. Every figure was checked against the state's own published rule; where a state does not publish one, the table says so instead of guessing.
🔒 Private by design. Everything you enter stays in this browser — nothing is uploaded, and we can't see it. Clearing your browser data (or using a different device) will erase the log, so print a copy when you're done.
| # | Date | Duration | Time |
|---|
No drives logged yet. Add your first one above.
I certify that the driver named above completed the supervised driving practice recorded in this log.
📱 Practice behind the wheel, study on your phone. Start free in your browser covers all 50 states with car, motorcycle, and CDL tracks, turning your state's handbook into short lessons, sign games, and real-format mock exams — 100% offline, no account. Free to start, $29.99 once for everything. Also on the App Store and Google Play.