Best DMV Permit Test Apps, Compared (2026)
Updated July 9, 2026
We installed Zutobi, DMV Genie and myDMV and read their own paywalls on July 14, 2026. Prices change, so check your own screen.There's no single "best" permit app, just the best one for how you study and what you're willing to spend. If you're taking the test in California, here's an honest look at the apps with real staying power, what each one costs, and who each is actually for.
| App | Price model | State coverage | Works offline | Account required | Ads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PermitPal | $29.99 one-time (free tier available) | All 50 states, each verified in depth: car, moto & CDL | Yes, 100% offline | No | No ads |
| Zutobi | $7.99/wk car + moto after a 3-day trial; CDL another $9.99/wk | 50 states + D.C. | Not stated on its listing | Yes | Yes |
| DMV Genie | $19.99/wk car; moto $39.99/mo and CDL $49.99/mo, each separate | All 50 states | Yes, once downloaded | No | Yes (free tier) |
| myDMV | $7.99/wk, $19.99/mo or $29.99 per 6 months for car + moto; CDL another $9.99/wk to $49.99/6mo. No lifetime offered | All 50 states | Not stated on its listing | Not verified | Not verified |
| driving-tests.org | Free website + premium upsell | All states (CA pages included) | No, it's a website | No signup required | Not verified |
Sources: we installed Zutobi, DMV Genie and myDMV and read their own paywalls on July 14, 2026; other details from each app's Apple App Store listing and official website. "Not verified" means we couldn't confirm it from the publisher's own materials, so we left it blank rather than guess.
PermitPal, every state, verified in depth, pay once
This is our app, so weigh that. PermitPal covers all 50 states, and unlike apps that recycle one generic question bank everywhere, every state's track is verified against that state's own official handbook, with mock exams in that state's real published format (36 questions in California, 40 in New Hampshire, 20 in Alaska…). It also covers three license types per state: car permit, motorcycle, and the CDL knowledge tests: 38,400+ questions across all 50 states, in English and Spanish wherever the real exam is offered in Spanish. It runs 100% offline, asks for no account, and shows no ads or third-party trackers. The free tier gives you your first unit, the sign games, smart review, and a mock exam; $29.99 one-time unlocks everything with no subscription. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Android and in any browser.
Zutobi, the polished, gamified option
Zutobi is the slickest app here. It turns driver's ed into levels with points and awards, includes video lessons, and covers all 50 states plus D.C. Those video lessons and the game-like feel are a real strength if that's how you study. The tradeoff is the meter. We installed it on July 14, 2026: a 3-day trial converts to $7.99/week for car and motorcycle, and CDL is a separate $9.99/week on top. Study a week and cancel on time and it's cheaper than we are. Forget, and it bills every week whether you open it or not. Full math on the Zutobi comparison.
DMV Genie, big free tier, big question bank
DMV Genie is one of the most-downloaded permit apps: all 50 states, a large question bank, cheat sheets, an AI tutor, and a pass guarantee (pass the real exam or get a refund, per its listing) that we don't match. You can start without an account and it works offline once downloaded. The catches are ads on the free tier, and the price. Its upgrade screen asked us for $19.99 a week for the car track alone on July 14, 2026, with motorcycle ($39.99/mo) and CDL ($49.99/mo) billed separately. Apple's privacy label also says it links your email, phone number and coarse location to your identity. Details on the DMV Genie comparison.
myDMV, five languages, no lifetime
myDMV is polished and popular, with a big question bank, illustrated questions and five languages (English, Spanish, Chinese, Hindi and Vietnamese), which is more than our two. Read its paywall closely though: the $29.99 that looks like a one-time price buys six months, not forever, and it offers no lifetime option at all. Car and motorcycle run $7.99/wk, $19.99/mo or $29.99 per 6 months; CDL is separate again at $9.99/wk to $49.99/6mo. Apple's label says its data is used to track you across other companies' apps. See the myDMV comparison.
driving-tests.org, the free-volume champion
driving-tests.org is a website, not an app, and its strength is sheer free volume: it advertises free California practice tests with "no signup required" and offers hundreds of practice questions across multiple quizzes before any premium upsell (per driving-tests.org, July 9, 2026). If you just want to grind lots of free questions in a browser and don't care about offline access or a native app, it's hard to beat on price. Downsides: you need an internet connection, and it's general 50-state content rather than a focused California study path.
So which should you pick?
Want video lessons and a game-like feel? Zutobi. Want a free 50-state app and don't mind ads? DMV Genie. Just want to hammer free questions in a browser? driving-tests.org. Want a focused, ad-free, offline path for car, motorcycle or CDL, in any state, that you pay for once? That's what we built PermitPal for.
Want the head-to-head math? See our Zutobi alternative and DMV Genie alternative, the myDMV alternative breakdowns, or check how many questions are on the California test and the free practice test.
📱 Study smarter: Start free in your browser turns your state's handbook into short lessons, sign games, and real-format mock exams. Free to start, $29.99 once for everything, or $6.99 a week in the app. Also on the App Store and Google Play.